Friendship Braid Quilt – it’s an addiction

Ahh, another quilt from the UFO pile turned into a finished object. I really am trying to finish things up, and it feels really good to cross things off of the list. That doesn’t mean that I don’t have 50 bazillion ideas in the queue, but let’s discuss this one, first?

I started this friendship braid quilt last fall. I wanted to make a quilt for my best friend, who lives on the other coast. She not only is very understanding of the “I’m making you a thing, but it’ll get there when it gets there” timeline, but is also a quilter herself. She hand-pieces and hand quilts her quilts, and she does really appreciate the work and thought that goes into the things I make her. She’s also an enthusiastic gift receiver.

I used 13 different Japanese inspired prints, not from any one collection for the braids. I used the HexNMore ruler to cut half hexagons for the braid.

A moment about this ruler – I love it. It makes cutting different sizes really easy, and I don’t have to do math. Cut, rotate, cut smaller sizes out of the left overs. I have the really small one, too. I got them both at my LQS.

I used this basic pattern to put together the quilt. I didn’t have quite enough to do five strips, so I added a bit of the back ground to the middle strip.

You can’t tell from the iPhone picture, but the background is this really beautiful color on color chrysanthemum pattern. I wish I had bought a bolt of it- I love it that much and keep going back to it to use it.

Unlike my usual, I didn’t piece the back of this quilt. It’ll be easier for Elle to use either side of the quilt. I did embroider a label, and stitch it to the bottom corner. I like doing something a little different, so this one is round.

I quilted it on a BERNINA 780, using one of the built-in loopy decorative stitches. The binding came from my stash. The quilt ended up being 76″ x 80″.

Over all, I had a lot of fun putting this together. The friendship braid pattern is one of my favorites, and I can tell that I’ll be making it again and again.

Leave a Reply

