Every girls needs a denim dress to wear with her cowboy boots.

I purchased the Perfect Pattern Parcel with the April Rhodes Staple dress pattern.  I had been wanting to make it since it came out. (Still want to make ALL of the other patterns with it. Magpie mode, much?)

I received quite a few pieces of denim from a friend’s destash and used it to make the dress. I did cut the biggest size, and it’s just roomy enough for me. I used French seams like the pattern suggested, and made my own bias binding out of this batik scrap I had lying around.

It’s a little shorter than I like to wear with out leggings, but you can’t see my bum when I bend over, so on really hot days, I just wear it as is. I made it a little less plain with some embroidery. I used the Urban Threads Blackthorn design pack. I want to add more around the bottom, but I am very happy with it as it is now. It get a lot of rotation, and I know I’ll be wearing it a lot this winter, too.

Leave a Reply

