Experimentation

In prepping for the giant quilt of Halloween, and to scratch the inspiration itch, I’ve been trying out different blocks and then making them into small place mats or “mug rugs” and giving them to friends. All of these mug rugs are machine pieced and hand quilted, with cotton flannel for batting, measure 6 inches by 12 inches, and are completely from stash. I even made my own binding!

The flying geese was for my friend V, who loves colors. I made the blocks using this tutorial from Lori Holt at Bee In My Bonnett.

flying geese

flying geese back

 

This 1/2 Dresden plate went to my friend Laurie, just because.

I used the template from Elizabeth Hartman’s post on Sew Mama Sew. I really enjoyed sewing this one, and am looking forward to making a full Dresden plate something in the future.

 

1/2 dresden plate

 

The kimonos are for M – she loves orange and blue and things Japanese.

I used the basic construction idea from Kona Bay’s Tranquility quilt, and sized down to fit the mug rug size.

 

kimono!

kimono back

Leave a Reply

