WIP Wednesday

I’m embarking on my first big quilting project: a king sized wonky star quilt, using Halloween fabric for the prints and black as the background.

wonky start with left overs – one of the practice blocks

I spent a year or so picking up Halloween fabric that I liked when it was on sale, and bought 7 yards of black Kona when it was on sale and had a coupon. I picked up a black and orange stripe to make the binding.

Over the course of a few afternoons, I cut all of the fabric needed for the stars, and some of the sashing blocks.

wonky practice – I love the polka dots

I ran out of black fabric. URG. I’m going to buy more when it’s on sale again, and hope for the best. I’m still not sure what I want to do for the back. I was watching a video on youtube about quilting and how to pick fabric for it, and since I’m going to hand quilt this thing (it should end up about 110 inches square when I’m done), I’ll either do a solid back, or a heavily and small patterned back.

I want to get the top pieced first before I make the decision.

When I was at Maryland Sheep and Wool two weeks ago, I priced out wool batting from a local company. I have a feeling I’m going to be working on this one for a long time.

Leave a Reply

